Update Wizard

The update wizard shows an overview of all updates available to the slide that is currently opened. It also provides you with the possibility to manage these updates in bulk or individually. Should elements with update notifications from the library be added into the current presentation, or if a presentation is opened which has updates available, empower automatically opens the update overview.

Here you will be presented with the number of update notifications of the current presentation. A click on Start Wizard will open the Update Wizard, and every update will be performed individually. A click on Advanced will allow you to select one of two options for all updates: either all updates in the current presentation are executed, or none of the updates are executed and the update notification will not appear a further time. Clicking Start Wizard will also open the update wizard.

 

Depending on the kind of update, several different options can be selected. If content was edited or if something was added (such as inserting a further slide into the presentation), the update wizard will display the old version on the left and the current version on the right. To quickly identify all updates, they have been highlighted in yellow.

 

 

You can select one of the following options for every update:

  • Don’t update now: the update will not be applied but will, however, be displayed the next time you open the item.
  • Ignore this update only: the update will not be applied and will also not be displayed the next time you open the item.
  • Don’t update and don’t show again: the update will not be applied and future updates will not be displayed. The element will also be removed from the update union and will now become an independent object (this option is equivalent to “Remove from update union” of chapter General update settings).
  • Update slide: the update will be executed.
  • Update and keep old version: the update will be executed and saved to the library. In addition, the old version of the item remains in the current presentation in its current form and is able to be archived.
  • Update all instances: all updates of a single kind of element are implemented.

 

If an item is deleted from the library (e.g. an irrelevant slide is removed from a presentation) the update wizard presents four options in what way a delete update is to be handled:

 

    

  • Don’t delete now: The update will not be executed, e.g. the element will not be deleted. The next time the element is opened, the update will be displayed again.
  • Delete Slide: The update will be executed and the element will be deleted.
  • Don’t delete and don’t show again: The update will not be executed, e.g. the element will not be deleted. Future updates will also no longer be displayed. The element will be removed from the update union and from this point on will exist as an individual object (This option corresponds to the function “Remove from update union” of chapter General update settings.)
  • Delete all instances: All delete updates in the presentation currently open will be executed e.g. all elements with delete updates will be deleted.

If a master is updated within the library, all slides or presentations will receive an update notification. In the case of a master update, the update wizard will provide the same options as when changes to content are made:

 

  • Don’t update now: The new master will not be applied. The next time the element is opened, the update will be displayed again.
  • Ignore this update only: The master will not be applied and the update will also not be displayed the next time it is opened, however future updates e.g. changes at a later date will still be displayed.
  • Don’t update and don’t show again: The master will not be applied and also future updates will no longer be displayed. The element will be removed from the update union and will from this point on be an individual object. (This option corresponds to the function “Remove from update union” of chapter General update settings.)
  • Update master: The master will be applied to the presentation.
  • Update and keep old version: The update will be executed and saved to the library. In addition, the version with the old master will be preserved and is able to be archived locally.
  • Update all instances: All master updates will be applied.
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.