In the section “Upload and Update” of the "Settings" in "empower Customizing", you are able to manage settings for uploading items and the “Update Wizard”, as well as the general behavior of updates.
If you select the function "Enable uploading multiple slides", you enable users to upload several slides at once to the library as a “Slide Set”. If this option is not selected the option “Slide Set” will not be available in the “Save as” dialogue, even if several slides are selected. A “Slide Set” that has been saved as such in the library will only show you the first slide, you are also unable to access individual slides. Once you add the “Slide Set” to a presentation, you can access all slides. This option is useful when you have a grouping of slides that should only be used together. In this way, you prevent a user from using a single slide in a way that it is not intended.
Using the above setting "Force CD Check on add", you are able to determine if CD Check when saving is automatically performed before PowerPoint® items are uploaded. This means that only items that conform to corporate design are stored in the library. You prevent employees from uploading items that are not in line with your corporate design.
Keep in mind that this would then mean that only content that is conform to CD can be uploaded, content by customers, for example, are now unable to be saved.
The option “Open update wizard opens automatically” will set how an empower user is informed about updates.
By default, you are informed via an information panel if items with outdated content are opened. If this option has been deactivated, the update wizard can still be launched manually by clicking on the “Updates” button in the library area.
You can activate the expiry date function in "Activate Expiry Date". Once this function has been activated, you can set an expiry date for library items. Once this date has elapsed, these elements will be automatically moved to the recycle bin.
The default behavior of receiving and distributing updates within the update union can be configured in “Link Settings”.
The default setting for receiving updates is usually “Only updates from origin”. This means that an element only receives updates from its direct origin in the update union.
A further option entails elements in the library receiving updates from several elements within the update union, no matter where the update was carried out. Elements in the library will not receive any updates if “Receive no updates” is activated.
All options can be activated or deactivated with the on/off switches. If an option is deactivated it will not be listed in the selection menu which will open if you right-click on an element in the library. You may alter the default setting for one or multiple elements. Please note that this change is only effective for the selected element or elements.
There are four options available for the sharing of updates:
- “Share update” means that all elements distribute updates by default.
- “Don’t share update means that although elements within the empower library do not distribute updates, locally saved elements of the update union will still receive update notifications when they are opened.
- “Disable update” will deactivate the distribution of updates for elements in the library as well as locally saved elements (both elements will however remain in the update union even though they will not distribute updates. They are labelled with a link symbol).
- Activating “Remove from update list” will set that no links are made. All elements are completely independent items in the library and are not contained within the update union. Updates are neither sent nor received. In essence, the update function has been deactivated!
You can find further information on the update function of empower in chapter “Updates”.